Looplovers Lexicon

I was at a bit of a loss for what to put up this week, as I don’t really have anything I can show as am staying at my Adam’s place. I started feeling very unwell Monday night, and brushed it off thinking that I’d just done a bit much. I went out for the day with Adam the next day and was feeling a lot better at first, but gradually felt worse until he drove me to his and said that I wasn’t to leave until I felt better. I’m feeling a lot better now, but still not great, and have had to give my usual activities a miss for the rest of the week. Was worth it for the visit to Dickens World for the first time, though, and to not have to go home. Adam has suggested that I make a dictionary here, and link the entries into my other posts as applicable. Lets start with how I got knitting and crocheting.

I was told that anyone who can make a slip knot can learn to knit and/or crochet. This rather panicked me, as knots have never been my thing. But the fact that I’m writing this now shows that I persevered. I have been crocheting for three years and knitting for one and a half, and however long I keep at it there will always be new things to learn. Don’t expect to do everything straight off, all of have trouble with some bits at first and so need practice. I know I did, I created my first crochet pattern as a productive way to practice the base stitch. Welcome to the world of making fabric.
If you cannot entirely understand one set of instructions, look the information you need up on another source. Some places over-simplify (such as the site that uses 10 steps just to show you how to cast-on, which put me off as I thought it must be really hard to need so many steps) and others miss things out because they assume that you already know it. Keep flipping through instructions from several sources, and you will reach understanding. Sometimes it takes me four or five places before I find the right wording for me of how to do one line of instructions, but then I am autistic. If you look through source after source and are still baffled, find a group near you and ask them.
And there is never just one way of doing something, so if you have legible instructions for doing it one way, don’t panic if you can’t. I struggled with my inability to knit for over two decades because I thought that the only way of doing it was how my family did. How wrong I was, and how glad I was when I realized this!
When you have made a satisfactory piece of knitting or crochet, take a large-eyed needle, thread it with a loose tail of yarn, and use it to weave them discreetly into the back of your work.

Leave a Reply

