Slip Decrease

I picked up the last edition of Let’s Knit, and began tacking the flower corsage pattern. While I have decided that my head is too stuffed with cotton wool to do it justice ATM, it did teach me a neat little move. I call it the slip decrease, as the pattern showed no formal name.

How it’s used this decrease creates a ruffly effect perfect for edgings and flower petals

casting on Cast on any multiple of 13, plus 2, with a needle size that allows firm tension. A smooth yarn that won’t split easily is best for tackling this stitch the first time. With a slightly splitty smooth yarn, I found it a bit tough.

Method knit first 2 stitches *knit 1, pass back to left needle, pass next 10 stitches one at a time over slipped stitch and off needle, yarn over, knit next 3 stitches (the first being the slipped stitch)* repeat to end.
Either do a knit cast off if using as edging, or follow favourite pattern if using this as the bottom of an item. I will eventually be trying this as a ruffle scarf on big needles, starting and ending with this row and sandwiching a plain row or so in between.

troubleshooting If I slip the stitches off, won’t they drop down? I thought this, but the knitted and returned stitch locks them into place.
but they ARE dropping they can only drop if you didn’t knit the stitch, so try, try again
I lost count of how many I slipped off After a little while of losing count, I realised that each slipped stitch looks like a loop as it drops. Count the loops at the base of the stitch you’re slipping over, and all will be well. If you have too many, just grab them with the left needle and pop them back over.

Leave a Reply

