Darned socksy

20130820-141816.jpg

You may remember when I was trying to knit my first pair of socks, and having great trouble. Well, that above is the second attempt, completed yesterday. I took a big break from it, and it would have taken no more than a week working at them exclusively.
So what was the problem? First, I was deliriously ill. Second, I had no idea that my typically sloppy gauge would be tighter in the round.
How am I celebrating? Making two more pairs of socks. One is a toe up for my mum and… You’ll hear more about the others very soon.
Because I have naturally short and wide feet that are easily irritated y my oedema and I get feverish from prolonged contact with acrylic, I have never had a well-fitting pair of socks before. They’re just on the snug side now, but are growing with blocking.

20130820-142427.jpg
In case you were wondering, the yarn is Zitron Trekking XXL in shade 1002. This shade seems to have been discontinued, but 482 isn’t far off

Leave a Reply

