Bleak Socks (plus free pattern)

20130822-231552.jpg
This is one of the two pairs of socks I’m currently making. The photo doesn’t really do it justice, but it’s the best I could get at 11 at night.
I wanted to have enough done to give a taste of how enjoyable it is to make, as the FREE pattern is only available until the end of the month. Hopefully, it will be a pay-to-download then (not my pattern!)
Here is the part that I’m currently working:

20130822-231916.jpg
I had the most fun ever with the lateral braid. Yes, it’s inspired by Bleak House!!! Have I said that I lurve Dickens?
I chose charcoal yarn partly because I already had it, and partly because it looks like the dark stone of the inspirational building to me. And I chose red beads because I couldn’t source the black beads I wanted and got itchy fingers, so I settled for that of the colours I had in the right size as I think it looks dramatic. Would pale pink have gone better? Hmmm

Leave a Reply

